Česky: Pitná voda - kohoutek Español: Agua potable

Česky: Pitná voda – kohoutek Español: Agua potable (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I’ve changed my water and reapplied the PraziPro medication for the amount of water replaced.  There’s still no sign of improvement from the sick fish, but we’re only half-way through, so there’s still time.  The other fish seem more eager to eat, and have started establishing a pecking order.  I take this as a good sign.  Unfortunately, the low man on the totem pole is the sick fish.  Their bowel movements, while still somewhat stringy, are darker in color and more typical looking than before.

I’ve discovered that my tap water contains a rather high amount of nitrates (approx. 40ppm) which is high for discus fish.  Since buying an R/O unit, or purchasing R/O water, is too impractical I’m going to try using Nitrazorb.  They’re pouches you place in your filter to knock out the impurities and it’s supposed to work wonders.  Better yet, it’s reusable so I won’t be running to the store constantly to keep in stock.

I’ve been keeping the lights at half-strength but it doesn’t seem to have any effect on the sick fish.    I’ve  been feeding them 4 times a day, alternating between bloodworms and brine shrimp.

 

